groovyPost Forums

Outlook 07 deletes Auto Complete

Guest victory

Guest victory

I have a case where the user does not have the email address in his contacts, it is just in his auto complete from typing it in once, if he sends an email that is undeliverable the next time he trys to email the same person, the auto complete for that address is gone? I know he should have them in his contacts, and I think i have convinced him of this, but it is nice to keep the auto complete working.

I am new to 07, but have never had this problem in 03.

Hi Victory! Welcome to the site!

Ok, so this is a really odd problem you've detailed. What your saying is an address in the users Auto-Complete received an Email NDR (Non-Delivery Receipt). When he went back to send the email again the Email Address was no longer in his Outlook Auto-Complete?

I assume the user wants to resend the email but now he cannot remember the email address. Perhaps you can get the address from the NDR message? Does he have that? You can also look in the Sent Items folder. If it's not there, you should be able to find it using the "Recover Deleted Items". Just click on the Sent folder, Tools, Recover Deleted Items. If it's not there then try that from the Deleted Items folder. Perhaps it's in there.

Anyway, back to your question, Unless he deleted the Auto-Complete entry manually or deleted his outlook profile or, moved to a new machine, his Auto-Complete Cache should be intact. It's very odd.

Another option is to use NK2View. It's a utility which you can use to open his Auto-complete file and look at all his entries. Perhaps it's in there somewhere. The tool is free so have fun with it.

Hope this helps!

Guest victory

Yep, that is what is happens every time an email is undeliverable.