groovyPost Forums

Outlook 2010 - adding additional mailbox?

pts123

Your groovyPost Daily Email update for today was screenshots for adding an additional mailbox in Outlook 2010. Being an IT worker, I consider myself above average on understanding Outlook issues.

I have been using 2010 for a few months and I love it, but I have never added an additional mailbox to a specific Email account. I do have three different Email accounts running on one screen/mailbox and .pst file. When I follow your screenshots, I highlight the account and click change, but I am taken to a screen that says "Internet Email Settings". I selected manual entry of info when I created this account, so maybe that changes the whole process. There is a button that says "more settings", but it goes to something totally different than your screenshots.

My accounts are set-up for POP3 type email and your screenshots have Exchange on them, so possibly the precess changes when using an Exchange server. Maybe you could provide this same lesson for POP3, probably the majority of your readers are using POP3 anyway.

Also you didn't really explain the purpose of adding the additional mailbox? Does it create a seperate .pst file? And how would you direct specific email to each different mailbox. Remeber the email is coming into one account. Would "rules" be set-up to guide specific email to the correct mailbox, etc . . . thanks

JD KC

Heya. Lot's of good questions and good points. I think you are right. I probably need to update the article to make it a bit more clear!

OK lets look at each your questions 1 at a time!